ELEPHBO – Design made of cement bags

ELEPHBO collects empty cement bags in Cambodia, which are lying around everywhere because nobody disposes of them, cleans them and uses them to make cool bags, backpacks and other accessories. Of course fair trade and doubly meaningful: the environment is relieved and jobs are created in a very poor country.

Share this article:

Garbage in, is not garbage out...

ELEPHBO does not believe in big sayings, but rather in small deeds that contribute to a big cause. When ELEPHBO started, they had one goal in mind: to create practical products from sustainable materials and use them as vehicles for change. Since 2016, ELEPHBO has been pursuing this vision, a change in people's thinking, so that small deeds also help, and that these small deeds, because of their small impact, nevertheless deserve recognition.

Spread the vision, not the garbage

The implementation of the idea begins in Cambodia, where cement bags are made of polypropylene, a woven plastic, i.e. plastic. Often these cement bags are not disposed of correctly, so they remain lying around and thus pollute the environment. In 2016, the idea was born to collect and wash these cement bags with the help of local people, on building sites, roads and in the fields of Cambodia. Afterwards the washed cement bags are processed into cool bags, backpacks, sneakers and accessories.

 
 
 
 
 

Social and sustainable goals

ELEPHBO's goal is to ensure that its products and manufacturing always have a positive impact on the environment and people. For this reason, ELEPHBO does not only use recycled materials, but is also committed to fair working conditions and fair payment of people throughout the value chain. ELEPHBO's idea and passion is to make people in developing countries aware of sustainability and to show them how to make practical and high-quality products from waste and at the same time do something good for the environment through its actions.

To date ELEPHBO has already recycled over 90'000 cement bags, but that is not enough for ELEPHBO. They want to collect and process many more thousands and thus carry the vision to other developing countries.

Source: www.elephbo.ch

Share this article:

ELEPHBO - design aus Zementsäcken

ELEPHBO sammelt in Kambodscha leere Zementsäcke, die dort überall herumliegen, weil sie niemand entsorgt, reinigt sie und produziert daraus coole Taschen, Rucksäcke und andere Accessoires. Natürlich Fair Trade und doppelt sinnvoll: Die Umwelt wird entlastet und in einem sehr armen Land werden Arbeitsplätze geschaffen.

Diesen Beitrag teilen:

Müll rein, ist nicht Müll raus...

ELEPHBO glaubt nicht an grosse Sprüche, lieber kleine Taten, die zu einer grossen Sache beitragen. Als ELEPHBO startete, hatten sie ein Ziel vor Augen: Praktische Produkte aus nachhaltigen Materialien und diese als Träger des Wandels zu nutzen. Diese Vision, ein Wandel im Denken der Menschen, dass auch kleine Taten helfen und diese wegen ihrer im Einzelnen gesehen kleinen Auswirkung, trotzdem ihre Anerkennung verdienen, verfolgt ELEPHBO seit 2016.

Verbreite die Vision, nicht den Müll

Die Umsetzung der Idee beginnt in Kambodscha, wo Zementsäcke aus Polypropylen bestehen, einem gewebten Kunststoff, sprich Plastik. Häufig werden diese Zementsäcke nicht korrekt entsorgt, bleiben also liegen und belasten somit die Umwelt. Daraus entstand 2016 die Idee, diese Zementsäcke mit Hilfe von Einheimischen, auf Baustellen, Strassen und den Feldern Kambodschas, einzusammeln und zu waschen. Anschliessend werden die gewaschenen Zementsäcke zu coolen Taschen, Backpacks, Sneakers und Accessoires verarbeitet.

 
 
 
 
 

Soziale und nachhaltige Ziele

ELEPHBO’s Ziel ist es, dass ihre Produkte und die Herstellung stets positive Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und die Menschen garantieren. Aus diesem Grund verwendet ELEPHBO nicht nur recycelte Materialien, sondern setzt sich für faire Arbeitsbedingungen und die faire Bezahlung der Menschen in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette ein. Die Idee und Passion von ELEPHBO ist es, Menschen in Entwicklungsländern auf die Nachhaltigkeit aufmerksam zu machen und ihnen aufzuzeigen, wie man auch aus Müll praktische und hochwertige Produkte herstellen kann und gleichzeitig mit seinem Handeln der Umwelt etwas Gutes tut.

Bis heute hat ELEPHBO bereits über 90’000 Zementsäcke recycelt, aber das ist ELEPHBO noch nicht genug. Sie möchten noch viele weitere tausende einsammeln und verarbeiten und somit die Vision in weitere Entwicklungsländer tragen.

Quelle: www.elephbo.ch

Diesen Beitrag teilen: